Any person who is a Massachusetts resident and a United States citizen and will be 18 years old as of the next election is eligible to register to vote.
You must attest, under the pains and penalties of perjury, that you are legally eligible to register and that the information you provide is accurate and truthful. The penalty for fraudulent registration is a fine of $10,000 or imprisonment for up to five years, or both.
According to the Federal Trade Commission, the nation's consumer protection agency, scammers may send messages asking for your Social Security number or financial information supposedly to register you to vote - or to confirm your registration - when they really want to commit identity theft.
PLEASE NOTE: In Massachusetts, when you register to vote, you will be asked to provide either your Massachusetts Driver's License number, OR the last four digits of your Social Security number. These are used for verification purposes. YOU SHOULD NEVER BE ASKED TO PROVIDE YOUR FULL SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER BY A LEGITIMATE ELECTION OFFICIAL.