Joint Capital Planning Committee

The Resident Capital Request window is now open from October 1, 2021 until November 19, 2021. Click here for the submission form. Please email Sonia Aldrich  any questions you may have.

 For the previous Joint Capital Planning Committee that existed prior to the adoption of the Home Rule Charter in 2018, see its archived page.

Committee Charge

Type: Charter
Authority: Amherst Home Rule Charter Section 5.7(b)
Appointing Authorities: Town Council, School Committee, Library Trustees
Voting Members: Seven (7): (2) School Committee Members, (2) Library Trustees 
& (3) Town Councilors, (2) of whom shall be on Finance Committee
Term of Appointment: One (1) Year
Staff Support: Town Manager or Designee


Name Appointed Expiration Role
Cathy Schoen, Chair 2020 2022 Councilor (Finance Committee)
Alex Lefebvre, Vice Chair 2019 2020 Library Trustee
Peter Demling 2020
School Committee
Tamson Ely 2019 2020 Library Trustee
Mandi Jo Hanneke 2020 2022 Councilor
Kerry Spitzer 2020
School Committee
Andrew Steinberg 2020 2022 Councilor (Finance Committee)

Authority: Section 5.7(b) of the Amherst Home Rule Charter calls for the creation of a Capital Improvement Program. The Town Manager is responsible for creating the Capital Improvement Program. 

Purpose: The purpose of the JCPC is to provide a place with the three major elected bodies in Town can discuss capital planning needs, make recommendations regarding annual capital spending, and make recommendations regarding the long-term Capital Improvement Plan. 

Charge: JCPC shall: 

  1. Advise the Town Manager on the creation of the Capital Improvement Program. 

a. The Capital Improvement Program shall include: 

i. a clear summary of its contents; 

ii. a list of all capital improvements proposed to be undertaken during the next 5 fiscal years with supporting data and rationale; 

iii. cost estimates, method of financing, and recommended time schedules; and 

iv. the estimated annual cost of operating and maintaining the facilities and/or equipment included.

The above information shall be revised and extended each year.” Charter Sec. 5.7(b) 

Membership: Section 5.7(b) of the Amherst Home Rule Charter states the Joint Capital Planning Committee shall be “composed of, at a minimum, representatives from the Town Council, School Committee, and Library Trustees…” 

Reports: Reports shall be consistent with Section 5.7 of the Charter. 

Charge Adopted: December 17, 2018, amended on February 10, 2020


Committee Report


Committee Report

Report Appendix


Capital Plan

JCPC Report

Citizen capital requests


The deadline for FY2023 Resident Capital Requests is Friday, November 19, 2021 at 4:30PM.